Base 2 and 3

Twelve weeks in and ‘Base’ parts 2 and 3 are completed and its been fairly uneventful.  My finger has recovered nicely from being stuck in a spinning disk brake (don’t ask why, I don’t know) I raced and marshalled at Chirk Sprint Triathlon which I really enjoyed and helped liven up the boredom of training. So much so I raced in the Chester Half Marathon the week after and also Ruthin Sprint Triathlon just last weekend.  The Saturday bike rides have gotten a bit longer and the cafe stops have had to be kicked into touch but I’ve got a good crew of partners to ride with which has made them the social highlight of my week. So onward and upward to 4 week of Build 1 which sees the training load up’d from 10 to 13 hours and finishes with a Race at Chester over the Olympic Distance, which includes a river swim so the wet-suit will be coming out to play soon enough.

About christianedwards

Entered for Ironman Wales in September. I'm preparing for it by following Don Fink's 30 week program from his Be Iron Fit book. Previously I have done quite a few Sprint Tri's at Nantwich and Chirk. Some Olympic distances At Ellesmere, Whitchurch and Chester before stepping up to the middle distance events in Bala and at Whitchurch. I then took on the Iron distance on the very flat course in Whitchurch and completed it in 14 hours and 35 minutes. I've also raced quite a few Half Marathons as well as the 2013 Chester Marathon and the 2017 London Marathon which I completed in 4 hours and 47 minutes. Personal Bests Sprint Tri - 1:18.41 Olympic Tri - 2:40.40 Half Iron - 5:59.31 Iron Distance - 14:34.15 Ironman Wales - 16:11.32 10km - 51:39 Half Marathon - 1:58.29 Marathon - 4:47.51
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment